Vicki Clough Curates

Musings on art and life.

Pretty Pinwork gets Crafty

I find that, after spending five years in art college, that the longer I am out of “school” the more I want to practice again.

For instance, one boring Sunday afternoon, while reading my Kindle, I was suddenly stuck my the inspiration to make my own cover. Having bought a really cheap, generic one on the internet, I had somewhat of a perfect template for my new cover.

I spent the next few hours dedicated to the exercise of creating my very own custom kindle cover design, and I have to say, even I was impressed with my first effort. I have since started my own business, Pretty Pinwork, which focuses on the customising and funkifying of kindles, kobos and iPads. Of course, I also sell pre-made versions on my Etsy, Facebook and Folksy pages. All my products are handmade, and I try my best to create one of a kind pieces every time, so that each customer has something that is unique. I cater for custom orders, and have even been approached recently to make a sketchbook cover and a laptop case. As I have never attempted either of these items, my success on this front remains to be seen..

 Watch this space.

Below is a small selection of the designs I’ve worked on recently.

Fabric and felt Kindle 4 cover

Here’s the first ever Kindle 3 cover I ever made, for my friend Anita. I’ve since perfected the method, so all the work looks WAY more professional, but I like the idea of showing where it all started.

Custom design for Kindle 3

This was the original prototype custom iPad cover, done for my friend Jenny just after she’s had her little girl, Lily.

This is the back of the prototype iPad cover, with Lily’s dad Darren on it.

Between the Lily cover and the Sketchy Inc ones below, I have mode a fair few others, including a comic book universe custom design (second prototype) for a friend. When I made the Lily cover, I realised that the formatting of the transfers, and the elastic securing of the iPad probably needed to be tweaked. The comic universe cover was a good exercise in fixing these issues.

 

My friend Shane and I collaborated to create these cool Sketchy Inc iPad covers. The print design is his, but the iPad cover design was made by me.

 

Kindle, iPad Mini and iPad cover

I have also begun making iPad mini covers. All of my Kindle 4 covers fit on the Kobo e-reader, and I am currently working on a Kindle Fire prototype, as well as investigating the design possibilities of upcycling clothes into covers. Again, watch this space..

If you have any queries, please do not hesitate to comment or get in touch via one of my websites.

Shane’s work is available to buy from his shop.

All the work displayed on this page are available to order from my Etsy, Facebook and Folksy pages.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 21, 2012 by in Art, craft, e-reader, Kindle and kobo covers, My Own work.
Vicki Clough

Vicki Clough

Vicki is an independent curator and craftsperson with a focus on socially engaged and participatory art and events. In January 2016 she helped launch Reconstructing Resilience, an ongoing research and curatorial project that aims to address the various forms of sustainable practice. She has been the Curatorial Director of Figment Toronto since 2014 and has also co-curated exhibitions including Move to Stillness, for the Harbourfront Centre's Kick Up Your Heels Festival (2015), The Duel, AGO First Thursdays (2014) and What Are You Made Of? OCAD U Graduate Gallery (2013). She initiated the Toronto based workshop model and website Polymers in Action: Socially Engaged Art and the Environment as part of her studies at OCAD University, where she obtained her Master of Fine Arts degree in Criticism and Curatorial Practice. She publishes on anything that interests her deeply and moves her to the point of lengthy verbal expression.

View Full Profile →

letters to my children

you can't tell the story of a life whist simultaneously trying to live one

ARTicurating

Art, Architecture, Film, Urbanism, and their Intersections

Posse.

Words by Auckland based community activist, Chloe King. She isn't sorry about all the swears.

MyGolio Development and Launch

Thoughts on art and getting things done

Words Of Birds

Left the Nest

Fusion

Championing a young, diverse, and inclusive America with a unique mix of smart and irreverent original reporting, lifestyle, and comedic content.

Polymers in Action

Waste Plastic Art in Toronto

Black Millennials

Cultural Empowerment for Black 20somethings

Feminist Art Conference

A yearly multidisciplinary feminist art conference that inspires sharing, networking & collaboration

Feminist Philosophers

News feminist philosophers can use

Lights in the Dark

A journal of space exploration

Classroom as Microcosm

Siobhan Curious Says: Teachers are People Too

Archaeology and Material Culture

The material world, broadly defined

evoL =

Allies for equality.

The Creative Panic

art and other things.

The Daily Think

Laura Quick's book The Quick Guide To Parenting is available to order on Amazon. A perfect gift for parents.

