Vicki Clough Curates

Musings on art and life.

A Sense of Place Series: First stop, Jo’burg

 I’m using some of my time off to do some writing.. and thinking. Naturally, the thinking came first. On Friday morning, as I flew over the Irish sea, then bussed from Dublin to Galway, I got to reconsidering a project I did many years ago on “A Sense of Place.” It’s not always an easy concept for me to grasp. I do, most of the time, have a very clear idea of where I am in the world, but I have always struggled with my lack of “roots”. Not far outside of Athlone, I decided that it might be a nice idea to start relating to the disjointed parts of my life within my writing, not to try and change the way I see my history (I wouldn’t change it if I could), but to map it out in terms of other people’s art.

Stop number one is Johannesburg. The artists below were all found using the site Everard Read, Johannesburg.

Thea Soggot

Thea Soggot

The city itself is not particularly picturesque, although from my distant memories, it did have some pretty spots. As city’s go though, it does still have a thriving art community, evident in the lists of artists on the above websites where I was spoiled for choice. Thea Soggot caught my eye, with her lovely figurative drawings. She uses damp earth from the Magaliesberg mountains to paint intimate portraits with sensitivity and skill.

Phillemon Hlungwani

Phillimon Hlungwani

Phillemon Hlungwani’s prints are wonderfully rendered examples of rural life in South Africa. Working mostly in lino, dry-point and charcoal on paper, he uses his work to express and explore everyday life and the journeys we undertake as part of it. A spiritual man, Phillimon often features trees in his art as representations of his connection to them as a place of worship, ritual and prayer.

I haven’t lived in Jo’burg for about 20 years. When I think about what a span of time that is, it boggles my mind. When I think about the moves I’ve made since then, it boggles even more. I remember visiting the theatre for the Christmas panto, and going to see a ballet once, other then that when I lived there the city centre was often a “no-go” area. When I last visited, I found much had changed, some parts for the better, others; not so much. I was glad to come across this article about the emerging art scene in Jo’burg; once a city firmly in the grip of social and political turmoil.  While I no longer only identify myself as South African, there is still a large part of my personality that was developed there. My love of art was instilled in me through murals and graffiti seen around the city, and the ability artists have of addressing social and emotional issues through their work. Looking through the list of artists on Everard Read has shown me how far the South African art world has changed since I last lived in JHB, and I’m glad to see it.

The work of these two artists reminds me that in my writing, I’m not bound by my geographical location, and this aspect of my past was a step in a journey to better cultural understanding. I’ve come to believe that I was not meant to have a sense of my own place in this particular city, but I can revisit my childhood province whenever I like; through their sensitive depictions of landscape, or the reminder that art can be created with the very earth itself.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 4, 2013 by in Art, Curatorial Practice, Painting, Print, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .
Vicki Clough

Vicki Clough

Vicki is an independent curator and craftsperson with a focus on socially engaged and participatory art and events. In January 2016 she helped launch Reconstructing Resilience, an ongoing research and curatorial project that aims to address the various forms of sustainable practice. She has been the Curatorial Director of Figment Toronto since 2014 and has also co-curated exhibitions including Move to Stillness, for the Harbourfront Centre's Kick Up Your Heels Festival (2015), The Duel, AGO First Thursdays (2014) and What Are You Made Of? OCAD U Graduate Gallery (2013). She initiated the Toronto based workshop model and website Polymers in Action: Socially Engaged Art and the Environment as part of her studies at OCAD University, where she obtained her Master of Fine Arts degree in Criticism and Curatorial Practice. She publishes on anything that interests her deeply and moves her to the point of lengthy verbal expression.

View Full Profile →

letters to my children

you can't tell the story of a life whist simultaneously trying to live one

ARTicurating

Art, Architecture, Film, Urbanism, and their Intersections

Posse.

Words by Auckland based community activist, Chloe King. She isn't sorry about all the swears.

MyGolio Development and Launch

Thoughts on art and getting things done

Words Of Birds

Left the Nest

Fusion

Championing a young, diverse, and inclusive America with a unique mix of smart and irreverent original reporting, lifestyle, and comedic content.

Polymers in Action

Waste Plastic Art in Toronto

Black Millennials

Cultural Empowerment for Black 20somethings

Feminist Art Conference

A yearly multidisciplinary feminist art conference that inspires sharing, networking & collaboration

Feminist Philosophers

News feminist philosophers can use

Lights in the Dark

A journal of space exploration

Classroom as Microcosm

Siobhan Curious Says: Teachers are People Too

Archaeology and Material Culture

The material world, broadly defined

evoL =

Allies for equality.

The Creative Panic

art and other things.

The Daily Think

Laura Quick's book The Quick Guide To Parenting is available to order on Amazon. A perfect gift for parents.

